Shostakovich's Music for Piano Solo

Shostakovich's Music for Piano Solo

Interpretation and Performance
Sofia Moshevich
Distribution: Global
Publication date: 05/28/2015
Format: Hardback 91 music exx.
ISBN: 978-0-253-01422-1
Bookmark and Share

Other formats available:

Buy from Amazon


The piano works of Dmitri Shostakovich (1906–1975) are among the most treasured musical compositions of the 20th century. In this volume, pianist and Russian music scholar Sofia Moshevich provides detailed interpretive analyses of the ten major piano solo works by Shostakovich, carefully noting important stylistic details and specific ways to overcome the numerous musical and technical challenges presented by the music. Each piece is introduced with a brief historic and structural description, followed by an examination of such interpretive aspects as tempo, phrasing, dynamics, voice balance, pedaling, and fingering. This book will be an invaluable resource for students, pedagogues, and performers of Shostakovich's piano solos.

Author Bio

Sofia Moshevich is an independent scholar, pianist, and teacher in Toronto, Canada. She is author of Dmitri Shostakovich, Pianist.


“A valuable addition to the literature on Shostakovich. Moshevich provides a broad analysis of Shostakovich’s piano solos, descriptions of the unique characters, imaginative images to guide pianists, and practical suggestions to bring out the salient features.”
 — Read Gainsford, Florida State University

“This excellent, comprehensive study of Shostakovich’s piano music is a gift to performers and teachers. . . . Highly recommended.”
 — Choice

“Moshevich’s book is a much needed comprehensive study as well as a guide to learning how to perform Shostakovich’s solo piano music. . . . With curious details, such as Shostakovich’s being a devoted soccer fan. . . , Moshevich enlivens the otherwise specialized focus of her book, and turns it into a must-have for every music school library.”
 — Music Reference Services Qtly

Customer Reviews

There are currently no reviews
Write a review on this title.

Table of Contents

1. Early Works
Five Preludes
Three Fantastic Dances, op. 5
Piano Sonata no. 1, op. 12
Aphorisms, op. 13
Polka, op. 22a, from The Golden Age
2. Mature Works
Twenty-four Preludes, op. 34.
Piano Sonata No. 2, op. 61.
3. The Masterpiece
Twenty-four Preludes and Fugues, op. 87.
4. Works for Children
Children’s Notebook, op. 69.
Dances of the Dolls
Selected Bibliography

Related Titles