The Symphonic Repertoire, Volume II

The Symphonic Repertoire, Volume II

The First Golden Age of the Viennese Symphony: Haydn, Mozart, Beethoven, and Schubert
Brown, A. Peter
Distribution: World
Publication date: 08/13/2002
Format: Hardback 33 b&w illus., 177 music exx.
ISBN: 978-0-253-33487-9
Bookmark and Share

 Add to Wish List 

Also available:


A Choice Outstanding Academic Book of 2003

Central to the repertoire of Western art music since the 18th century, the symphony has come to be regarded as one of the ultimate compositional challenges. Surprisingly, heretofore there has been no truly extensive, broad-based treatment of the genre, and the best of the existing studies are now several decades old. In this five-volume series, A. Peter Brown explores the symphony from its 18th-century beginnings to the end of the 20th century. Synthesizing the enormous scholarly literature, Brown presents up-to-date overviews of the status of research, discusses any important former or remaining problems of attribution, illuminates the style of specific works and their contexts, and samples early writings on their reception. The Symphonic Repertoire provides an unmatched compendium of knowledge for the student, teacher, performer, and sophisticated amateur. The series is being launched with two volumes on the Viennese symphony.

Volume II
The First Golden Age of the Viennese Symphony
Haydn, Mozart, Beethoven, and Schubert

Volume II considers some of the best-known and most universally admired symphonies by Haydn, Mozart, Beethoven, and Schubert, who created what A. Peter Brown designates as the first golden age of the Viennese symphony during the late 18th and first three decades of the 19th century. The last two dozen symphonies by Haydn, half dozen by Mozart, and three by Schubert, together with Beethoven’s nine symphonies became established in the repertoire and provided a standard against which every other symphony would be measured. Most significantly, they imparted a prestige to the genre that was only occasionally rivaled by other cyclic compositions. More than 170 symphonies from this repertoire are described and analyzed in The First Golden Age of the Viennese Symphony, the first volume of the series to appear.

Author Bio

A. Peter Brown is Professor of Musicology at Indiana University. He is the author of Joseph Haydn’s Keyboard Music: Sources and Style, Performing Haydn’s The Creation: Reconstructing the Earliest Renditions, and other books and articles on eighteenth- and nineteenth-century music. He has also prepared editions of scores from this period.

Customer Reviews

There are currently no reviews
Write a review on this title.