Bean Blossom Dreams
With a New Afterword

Bean Blossom Dreams

A City Family's Search for a Simple Country Life
With a New Afterword
Sallyann J. Murphey
Distribution: World
Publication date: 2/12/2008
Format: paper 336 pages
6 x 9
ISBN: 978-0-253-21987-9
Bookmark and Share
 $19.95  $11.97 

 Add to Wish List 
Buy from Amazon


Sallyann J. Murphey and her husband did what a lot of us have dreamt of but never quite built up the courage to do. In 1990, Murphey, who was a successful BBC producer, and her husband, Greg, a commercial photographer, left their high stress, hectic life in Chicago and moved to a dilapidated 40-plus-acre farm in Brown County, Indiana, hoping to raise their daughter in a more natural and less stressful environment. In Bean Blossom Dreams, Murphey warmly and humorously details life on the family's farm. Though Brown County might not offer the idyllic country life they were expecting, Sallyann and Greg have realized through trial and error, laughter and tears, that they made the right decision to relocate. A delightful fish-out-of-water story!

Author Bio

Sallyann J. Murphey began her career as a producer for the British Broadcasting Corporation. She has worked as an investigative journalist for a number of publications, including IPC Magazines, the Daily Mail, the London Observer, The Chicago Times Magazine, and The Utne Reader. Murphey is now the high school history, government, and media studies teacher at Harmony School in Bloomington, Indiana, where she is also the high school coordinator. She lives in Brown County, Indiana.


"For those who dream of living in the country or those who already do, this is a delightful book, full of good humor, wisdom, and personal honesty." —The New Garden Journal

"Infused with considerable charm . . . lyrical, humorous writing . . . a colorful cast of characters, both human and animal, inhabits this book." —Kirkus Reviews

Customer Reviews

There are currently no reviews
Write a review on this title.

Table of Contents


Preface: Bean Blossom Farm—2007

1. The Wings of Change
2. And Weeds as Tall as Trees
3. Snakes, Ticks, and Tornadoes
4. Brown County Blues
5. Tools of the Trade
6. Our Furred and Feathered Friends
7. The Glittering Prizes
8. Lady and the Tramp
9. Just Another Day
10. Footprints in the Snow
11. "God Bless Us Every One!"
12. Simple Gifts

The Appendices: An Explanation
A. Food from the Farm Kitchen
B. Herbal Recipes and Garden Plans
Afterword: Bean Blossom Farm—2007