Folk Masters

Folk Masters

A Portrait of America
Photographs by Tom Pich
Text by Barry Bergey
Distribution: World
Publication date: 3/5/2018
ISBN: 978-0-253-03233-1
Bookmark and Share

Available through various retailers

Other formats available:


This title is not yet available. You may pre-order this item and it will be shipped to you when it is available.
Discover one hundred of the greatest folk artists practicing in the United States in Folk Masters: A Portrait of America. Over the past 25 years, photographer Tom Pich has traveled the country to the homes and studios of recipients of the National Endowment for the Arts’ National Heritage Fellowship, the highest honor given to folk and traditional artists in the US. His portraits give us a glimpse into their art, their process, and their culture. While each image tells a story on its own, Barry Bergey, former Director of Folk and Traditional Arts at the National Endowment for the Arts, provides further insight into the lives of each featured artist as well as the remarkable stories behind each photograph. Folk Masters honors again the extraordinary women and men who simultaneously take the traditional arts to new heights while ensuring their continuation from generation to generation.

Author Bio

Tom Pich is a professional photographer who has traveled across America for the past 25 years photographing the extraordinary recipients of the National Heritage Fellowships. His portraits have been exhibited at Lincoln Center, the Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts, the National Museum of the American Indian, The Russell Office Building of the U.S. Senate and Library of Congress.

Barry Bergey was the Director of Folk and Traditional Arts at the National Endowment for the Arts, recently retiring after a career of nearly 30 years at the agency. His involvement in international arts policy includes consultation with UNESCO, the Organization of American States, the World Bank, the U.S. Information Agency, and the Department of State.

Customer Reviews

There are currently no reviews
Write a review on this title.

Table of Contents


Hugh McGraw (1982)

Philip Simmons (1982)

Ray Hicks (1983)

Mary Jane Manigault (1984)

Ralph Stanley (1984)

Eppie Archuleta (1985)

Julio Negrón Rivera (1985)

Periklis Halkias (1985)

Alphonse “Bois Sec” Ardoin (1986)

Helen Cordero (1986)

John Jackson (1986)

Sonia Domsch (1986)

Juan Alindato (1987)

Genoveva Castellanos (1987)

Kansuma Fujima (1987)

Newton Washburn (1987)

Wade Mainer (1987)

Clyde “Kindy” Sproat (1988)

Chesley “Goseyun” Wilson (1989)

Harry V. Shourds (1989)

Vanessa Jennings (1989)

Natividad “Nati” Cano (1990)

Wally McRae (1990)

Etta Baker (1991)

George Blake (1991)

Irván Perez (1991)

Jerry Brown (1992)

Charles Hankins (1993)

D.L. Menard (1994)

Simon Shaheen (1994)

Sosei Shizuye Matsumoto (1994)

Blind Boys of Alabama (1994)

Danongan Kalanduyan (1995)

Nathan Jackson (1995)

Betty Pisio Christenson (1996)

Obo Addy (1996)

Vernon Owens (1996)

Ramón José López (1997)

Julius Epstein (1998)

Alfredo Campos (1999)

Elliott Mannette (1999)

Frisner Augustin (1999)

Jimmy “Slyde” Godbolt (1999)

Mick Moloney (1999)

Ulysses “Uly” Goode (1999)

Felipe Garcia Villamil (2000)

Joe Willie “Pinetop” Perkins (2000)

Konstantinos Pilarinos (2000)

Evalena Henry (2001)

João Oliveira Dos Santos (João Grande) (2001)

Peter Kyvelos (2001)

Qui Shu Fang (2001)

Seiichi Tanaka (2001)

Flory Jagoda (2002)

Jean Ritchie (2002)

Losang Samten (2002)

Nadim Dlaikan (2002)

Monoochehr Sadeghi (2003)

Nicholas Toth (2003)

Norman Kennedy (2003)

Basque Poets (Martin Goicoechea and Jesus Goni) (2003)

Jerry Douglas (2004)

Milan Opacich (2004)

Yiqin Wang and Zhengli Xu (2004)

Chuck Brown (2005)

Eldrid Skjold Arntzen (2005)

Herminia Albarrán Romero (2005)

Delores Churchill (2006)

Henry Gray (2006)

Irvin Trujillo (2007)

Joe Thompson (2007)

Julia Parker (2007)

Nicholas Benson (2007)

Bettye Kimbrell (2008)

Horace Axtell (2008)

Jeronimo Lozano (2008)

Mac Wiseman (2008)

Michael White (2008)

Moges Seyoum (2008)

Sue Yeon Park 2008)

Walter Murray Chiesa (2008)

Chitresh Das (2009)

Joel Nelson (2009)

Teri Rofkar (2009)

Jim “Texas Shorty” Chancellor (2010)

Mary Jackson (2010)

Frank Newsome (2011)

Warner Williams (2011)

Harold A. Burnham (2012)

Leonardo “Flaco” Jiménez (2012)

Molly Neptune Parker (2012)

Nicolae Feraru (2013)

Ramón “Chunky” Sánchez (2013)

Veronica Castillo (2013)

Henry Arquette (2014)

Dolly Jacobs (2015)

Yary Livan (2015)

Gee’s Bend Quilters (Loretta Pettway, Lucy Mingo, Mary Lee Bendolf) (2015)

Billy McComiskey (2016)

Clarissa Rizal (2016)
Complete List of NEA National Heritage Fellowship Awardees, 1982-2016
Sources of Artist Quotes